May 8, 2016

What is vegan at Subway Australia?

This list was created to help those who are looking for vegan options. Yes, the company itself isn't vegan and prepares/sells non-vegan products. However, the point of this is to show what can be purchased. Hopefully, a push for more vegan products will have a positive influence on these companies. Feel free to add to the list or remove from the list by commenting on this post. Remember, be kind. We don't need those wearing grumpy pants.

If you want to add or remove to the list, make sure attach a quote, link or photo that proves the change.

Disclaimer: This is an AUSTRALIAN list. Products may be different in other countries. Ingredients and products are always subject to change. This is a guide only. Always check before consuming.

Last updated: 29th September 2021

  • 9-grain wheat bread
  • Multi-grain bread
  • Roasted garlic bread
  • Wheat bread
  • White bread
  • Hearty Italian bread
  • Sourdough bread

  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato basil wrap
  • Habanero wrap

  • Sweet onion dressing
  • Zesty italian dressing
  • Deli brown mustard dressing
  • Yellow mustard dressing
  • BBQ sauce
  • Sweet chilli sauce
  • Tomato sauce
  • Oil and vinegar
  • Subway vinaigrette 
  • Fat-free italian dressing

  • Soft drinks
  • Water
  • Juices

  • Veggie patty
  • All salads
  • Black bean soup
  • apple slices


  1. Thank you for this informative advice. I look forward to having my future subs entirely vegan! :)

  2. Thanks a ton. This is so helpful when I go on a road trip and cannot prepare much food for myself :)

  3. Thanks a ton. This is sooo helpful when I go on a road trip and cannot prepare enough food :)

  4. Hey guys! We just went to subway and were informed that all their breads have milk in them. They even showed us the ingredients list

    1. Hi Jess! Their allergen document said they are fine:

    2. I go to the hospital when i eat dairy and i ate the white bread and was fine!!

  5. Having been into 3 local Subway stores, no one can give a definitive answer but checking their current ingredient list (Feb 17) their Multi Grain, Wheat, white & 9 grain wheat bread all contain emulsifiers (471,481,472e) which may be obtained from animals - some are listed a vegetable emulsifiers some are not so there is no guarantee. The plain wrap has glycerin that is not labeled as vegetable glycerine so no guarantee there either. The multi grain wrap has emulsifiers 481 & 471 which can be from animals. I'm new to a vegan lifestyle and this is doing my head in. Good thing I love cooking.

    1. According to their website, they are free from animal products. You could always call them directly?

  6. The garlic bread uses the garlic aioli,which I really cannot imagine is vegan

  7. The garlic bread uses the garlic aioli and I really cannot imagine that is vegan.

  8. anyone know about their garlic and herb toasties?